Background Image
Previous Page  9 / 68 Next Page
Show Menu
Previous Page 9 / 68 Next Page
Page Background

Monday, March 21, 2016

6:30 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.



Registration Desk

7:00 a.m. - 8:15 a.m.

CEU Value 0.2

Breakfast, General Session “The Sounds of Motivation” and Accreditation Awards


Hall C


This general session will open with breakfast being served between 7:00 a.m. and 7:15 a.m. allowing

attendees to gather and network over breakfast prior to the session beginning.

David Boyd of Appion and Steve Coscia of Coscia Communications will set the tone for the conference with

light entertainment.

General Session "The Sounds of Motivation"

Dr. Michael Lanoutte, Southern Technical College

Dr. Lanoutte has been named one of the top ten most influential people in career and technical education.

He holds a Ph.D. and Masters degree in Instructional Design from the University of South Alabama. He also

received a Bachelor's degree in Oceanography from the Florida Institute of Technology. He is also the author

of the book “Ten Traits of Highly Effective Instructors” (ISBN 9781470059477).

The Sounds of Motivation addresses one of the greatest challenges faced by instructors: motivating students.

This session is a culmination of formal and informal best practices for instructors to use to motivate students

as well as themselves and can also be used by education managers to help motivate their instructors. The

goal of the presentation is to give participants practical sets of examples in a variety of delivery methods

which can be used regardless of the educational level and course topic to increase student motivation.

For those who want to continue to learn about "The Sounds of Motivation," Dr. Lanoutte will hold a longer,

more detailed session later in the day. Attendees should be ready to interact and be motivated like you

never have before.

Accreditation Awards

Dr. James Crisp, HVAC Excellence

Upon conclusion of the presentation, Dr. James Crisp will recognize HVACR educational programs that were

granted programmatic accreditation over the last year.